Skip to main content


Each of the eight Grammar Schools in Queensland is constituted under the Grammar Schools Act 2016 (Qld) and is a Statutory Body, governed by a Board of Trustees.


  • Mr Carl Valentine - Chair of the Board of Trustees 
  • Mrs Bev Price - Deputy Chair
  • Mr Grant Bell
  • Professor Chris Cocklin
  • Judge Stuart Durward AM KC
  • Mr Michael Koen
  • Mrs Sally McCutcheon
  • Dr Ian Reddie
  • Mrs Suzy Wilson


  • Mr Timothy Kelly - Principal
  • Mr Connor Barrett -  Deputy Principal & Head of School (North Ward)
  • Dr Carolyn Moores - Director of Curriculum
  • Mr Martin Tait - Head of Junior School
  • Mr Daniel Fox - Director of Boarding
  • Mrs Kristell Scott - Director of Enrolments
  • Ms Julie Plath - Director of Marketing

Queensland Grammar Schools - 1863-1892

The eight Queensland Grammar Schools were established between 1863 and 1892.

Historically, the establishment of a Grammar School was a form of community-government partnership that provided a cost-effective way for the State Government to support secondary school education, before the newly independent State was in a position to establish state secondary schools. The contemporary approach is for the State to provide secondary education through the establishment of a state school under the Education (General Provisions) Act 2006.

The State Government also supports the provision of education through the regulation and funding of non-government schools.

The Grammar Schools Act

The Grammar School Act 2016 (GSA) and the Grammar Schools Regulation 2016 provide a framework for the establishment and regulation of eight Queensland Grammar Schools. Each school is governed by a Board of Trustees, appointed by the Governor in Council. The GSA provides that the Board of Trustees for each Grammar School is a statutory body. The GSA regulates the business of the Grammar School Boards, the keeping and auditing of accounts and making of budgets.